Twitter reacts to controversial replay in Virginia’s national title win over Texas Tech

Virginia’s national title victory over Texas Tech on Monday didn’t come without controversy.

Though the 85-77 overtime score suggests the Cavs won handily, Texas Tech led by as much as three in overtime before Virginia scored five straight to make it 75-73. Texas Tech’s Davide Moretti then got a defensive rebound, taking it up court before refs ruled Virginia’s De’Andre Hunter knocked the ball out of Moretti’s hands and out of bounds. Replay, however, showed Moretti was actually the last to touch it.

SN FAN SHOP: Buy your Virginia championship gear with Fanatics

Virginia used the overturned call to continue its scoring run, which ballooned to 13 before Tech could get back on the board. While the call was technically correct, many argued it would have stayed with Tech in any other situation. Others said it said it violated the spirit of replay, which is to correct egregious calls, not take a microscopic look of a play, frame by frame.

Nothing can change the fact Virginia is the champion of the 2018-19 season. But that doesn’t mean Twitter didn’t have a lot to say about the call.

MORE: How Virginia won OT thriller

Leave a Reply